Dorset Chamber adds steel

steel, dorset, chamber of commerce, public relations, pr, press office

STEEL: Dorset Chamber chief executive Ian Girling welcomes REIDsteel managing director Simon Boyd

Dorset’s leading business support organisation has strengthened its board with a high calibre appointment from one of the county’s most successful exporters and steel firms.

The Dorset Chamber of Commerce and Industry has welcomed REIDsteel managing director Simon Boyd as a non-executive director.

Christchurch-based REIDsteel has exported to more than 140 countries to date and is a four times winner of the Queen’s Award for Enterprise (International Trade).

Simon joins as the chamber – Dorset’s voice of business – celebrates its 70th anniversary in 2019, while REIDsteel marks its centenary.

Chief executive Ian Girling said: “Simon is a driven and astute business leader who will strengthen our already formidable board.

“We are thrilled to welcome him as a non-executive director as the Chamber continues to expand, modernise and support the business community and local economy.”

Christchurch-based REIDsteel employs up to 400 people at peak times.

It has the capability to design, manufacture and supply entire steel buildings including their cladding and or glazing requirements anywhere in the UK, Europe and the world.

Celebrating its centenary in 2019, steel firm REIDsteel it is a longstanding chamber member and a Dorset Young Chamber and Dorset Business Awards sponsor.

Simon said: “As a successful business with a century of trading to its name, it has been essential to maintain integrity, inclusiveness and a positive approach, which are values we share with the Chamber. One must always keep looking forward.

“I am keen to play my part as the Dorset Chamber continues to modernise, grow and support the business community.”

The Dorset Chamber – the second largest in the South West – has more than 700 members representing 35,000 employees.

Its board comprises chief executive Ian Girling, president Liz Willingham, chairperson of the chamber council Chris Slocock, past president Paul Tansey, senior vice-president Stephen Mills, junior vice-president Warren Munson, honorary solicitor Matthew Fretten, honorary treasurer James Robinson and non-executive directors Jason Gault, Caron Khan and Simon Boyd.